Home Community Announcements L.I. Championship SWR Wildcats football team honored by board of education

L.I. Championship SWR Wildcats football team honored by board of education

The Shoreham-Wading River High School varsity football team and coaches. Photo courtesy of the Shoreham-Wading River School District

On the heels of a record-breaking athletic season, the Shoreham-Wading River School District’s high school varsity football team was recognized during the Dec. 6 public meeting of the board of education.

Under the direction of head coach Matt Millheiser and assistant coaches Tony Antonucci, Doug Smiroldo, Aden Smith and Hans Wiederkehr, the team recently won the Division IV Long Island Championship and the Suffolk County Division IV Championship, making SWR only the fourth school in the 25-year history of the Long Island Championships to win three consecutive titles. They ended with a three-year record of 34-2. In addition, the team garnered the 2016 Rutgers Trophy for the best team in Suffolk County, as voted on by the division’s coaches.

During his presentation of the team and coaches, Director of Health and Physical Education Mark Passamonte explained that the success of the team was due to the talent of the coaches and the players. Chris Gray, Ethan Wiederkehr, Kevin Cutinella, Dean Stalzer, Chris Sheehan and Danny Cassidy were members of all three championship teams. Chris Gray and Ethan also garnered 2016 First Team All-Long Island Honors, while Dan Curtin was named Offensive MVP for the Long Island Championship game.

In addition, Chris Gray and Ethan Wiederkehr team have won or are in the running for individual awards. Chris is a finalist for the Cipp trophy as the best running back, the Cassese trophy as best defensive back and Hansen trophy as  the best player in Suffolk County. Ethan received the 2016 Bob Zellner Award for best lineman in Suffolk County. He was named the co-winner of the 2016 Rob Burnett Defensive Player of the Year Award and was chosen as the Long Island Championship Defensive MVP.