Arnold W. Vollmoeller Sr., formerly of Flanders, died May 5, 2023. He was 69 years old.

Born August 27, 1953 in Riverhead, Arnold was the son of the Philip and Ruth P. Vollmoeller.

Arnold worked as a heavy equipment operator with the Teamsters Union Local 282, but his passion was working with the Flanders Volunteer Fire Department. He started out as a fireman and progressed through the ranks to become Chief of the Flanders Fire Department and later Commissioner of the District. He held this post until his retirement and move to Conway, South Carolina in 2009.

Arnold was an avid NASCAR fan and volunteered with Meals on Wheels. He was also an extremely talented mechanic and spent countless hours in his shop restoring and rebuilding old cars and tractors.

In addition to his parents, he was predeceased by his brother, Phil Vollmoeller. He is survived by his loving and devoted wife of 50 years, Wanda A. Vollmoeller; his son, Arnold W. Vollmoeller Jr. (Stephanie); his brothers Bradford Vollmoeller and Robin Vollmoeller, and his sister Constance Moore. He is also survived by his brother- and sister in-law Michael and Jo-Ann Harris, and his sister- and brother in-law Linda and John Schwarz. He was predeceased by his brother-in-law, Lou Moore.

A Celebration of Life Service will be held at Flanders Fire Department, 19 Firehouse Lane, on Saturday, May 20 2023 from 1 to 4 p.m. The family requests that in lieu of flowers, donations be made to Victory Junction, 4500 Adams Way, Randleman, NC 27317, or Flanders Fire Department.

Paid notice

The survival of local journalism depends on your support.
We are a small family-owned operation. You rely on us to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Just a few dollars can help us continue to bring this important service to our community.
Support RiverheadLOCAL today.

Avatar photo
Denise is a veteran local reporter, editor, attorney and former Riverhead Town councilwoman. Her work has been recognized with numerous awards, including investigative reporting and writer of the year awards from the N.Y. Press Association. She is a founder, owner and co-publisher of this website.Email Denise.