New York’s First Congressional District has been reconfigured in the final court-ordered redistricting map to take in the entire north shore of Suffolk County to the Nassau County border. Image:

New York’s First Congressional District has been reconfigured in the final court-ordered redistricting map to take in the entire north shore of Suffolk County to the Nassau County border, including part of the current Third Congressional District.

The special master appointed by the State Supreme Court in Steuben County revised the boundary lines of some congressional and state senate districts depicted in his proposed maps filed earlier this week to reflect comments made by members of the public, according to the special master’s report attached to the court decision and order adopting the final maps.

“Several changes were made to Long Island districts in both the Senate and Congressional maps. Testimony by the League of Women Voters Long Island chapter, and others, suggested that splitting Long Island in a way that respects the north shore and south shore communities would be more appropriate. The congressional map now reflects that change,” Special Master Jonathan Cervas wrote in his report.

Cervas’ proposed NY-01 map, like the existing district drawn in 2012, included the five East End towns and eastern Brookhaven, from Patchogue on the south shore to Port Jefferson on the north.

The final congressional map puts the southern portion of Brookhaven Town — including the eastern Brookhaven regions south of the Peconic River, Calverton and Manorville — in the Second Congressional District.

The court-ordered NY-01 district still retains a slight Republican edge.

Political party primaries in New York have been pushed back to from June to Aug. 23, because of ongoing litigation over the redistricting process. Candidates who already qualified for the ballot in the party primary originally scheduled for June 28 remain qualified for the ballot in the Aug. 23 primary.

New candidates can still get on the ballot in the Aug. 28 party primary, under a court order signed last week. Candidates can begin circulating nominated petitions as of May 22.

New maps are drawn every 10 years as districts are reapportioned to reflect population changes recorded in the decennial census.

The state’s highest court on April 27 ruled 4-3 against maps adopted by the state, and in favor of petitioners challenging their constitutionality.

In a 32-page opinion, Chief Judge Janet DiFiore ruled the new State Senate and congressional maps violated the procedure outlined in the 2014 state constitutional amendment on redistricting, which requires that maps be drawn by a bipartisan Independent Redistricting Commission.

“A stalemate within the IRC resulted in a breakdown in the mandatory process for submission of electoral maps to the legislature,” DiFiore wrote. “The legislature responded by creating and enacting maps in a nontransparent manner controlled exclusively by the dominant political party — doing exactly what they would have done had the 2014 constitutional reforms never been passed.”

The Court of Appeals directed the trial court to appoint a special master to develop new congressional and state senate maps.

The special master released proposed maps on May 16 and filed final maps and a 15-page report with the court yesterday.

Acting Steuben County Supreme Court Justice Patrick McAllister accepted the maps and ordered them adopted in a five-page decision released early this morning.

Editor’s note: This article has been amended to correct an typographical error in the date of the delayed primary election.

The survival of local journalism depends on your support.
We are a small family-owned operation. You rely on us to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Just a few dollars can help us continue to bring this important service to our community.
Support RiverheadLOCAL today.

Avatar photo
Denise is a veteran local reporter, editor and attorney. Her work has been recognized with numerous journalism awards, including investigative reporting and writer of the year awards from the N.Y. Press Association. She was also honored in 2020 with a NY State Senate Woman of Distinction Award for her trailblazing work in local online news. She is a founder, owner and co-publisher of this website.Email Denise.