Lisa Darrow Richards has been promoted to the position of budget officer, Supervisor Yvette Aguiar announced Feb. 27. Photo: Julia-Anna Searson

Riverhead Supervisor Yvette Aguiar has promoted legislative secretary Lisa Darrow Richards to the position of budget officer/chief of staff. The supervisor has also appointed Donna Lynn Sadowsky to the legislative secretary position.

Aguiar said in an interview she’s been very impressed with Richards since she joined the supervisor’s staff last month.

“She’s very talented and she has experience in accounting and budgeting,” Aguiar said. “Also she’s very personable and has shown she can work well with all department heads.”

Donna Sadowsky is the supervisor’s new legislative secretary.
Photo: Julia-Anna Searson

The town board advertised the budget officer position at the supervisor’s request. Aguiar said she became convinced of the need for a budget officer during a training program conducted by the state comptroller’s office she attended after taking office last month.

“They stressed how important that position is,” Aguiar said.

Sadowsky has worked for many years as a confidential secretary at law firms, the supervisor said. “We interviewed and she stood out,” she said.

Aguiar said she’s very pleased with how her office staffing has shaped up. “There’s a lot of cohesion and we’ll work well as a team,” she said.

This is the second round of changes in the supervisor’s office since Aguiar came into office. Her first pick for deputy supervisor quit after just two weeks on the job. After saying she’d decided to name Councilman Tim Hubbard to be her new deputy, Aguiar shifted gears the next week and appointed her chief of staff Devon Higgins to the post.

We need your help.
Now more than ever, the survival of quality local journalism depends on your support. Our community faces unprecedented economic disruption, and the future of many small businesses are under threat, including our own. It takes time and resources to provide this service. We are a small family-owned operation, and we will do everything in our power to keep it going. But today more than ever before, we will depend on your support to continue. Support RiverheadLOCAL today. You rely on us to stay informed and we depend on you to make our work possible.

Denise Civiletti
Denise is a veteran local reporter, editor, attorney and former Riverhead Town councilwoman. Her work has been recognized with numerous awards, including investigative reporting and writer of the year awards from the N.Y. Press Association. She is a founder, owner and co-publisher of this website.Email Denise.