Travelers from Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma are now required to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving in New York, bringing the total number of states in New York’s COVID-19 travel advisory to 19.

Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma were included this morning after state officials determined that their positive test rates have surpassed the threshold in New York’s quarantine order, which applies to any state with a seven-day average positive test rate of at least 10% or 10 per 100,000 residents.

Violators can expect a $2,000 fine on the first violation and $5,000 for repeat violations. The fine could increase to $10,000 if the traveler’s violation of the order causes “serious physical harm” to a patient.

New York’s quarantine order now includes the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi 
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

Out of 56,736 tests conducted in New York yesterday, 588 were positive, making the state’s positive test rate 1.04%. At the height of the pandemic in early April, nearly 50% of administered tests were positive, with more than 10,000 new cases identified a day.

“New Yorkers did the impossible,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a statement this morning. “We went from the worst infection rate in the United States to one of the best – and the last thing we need is to see another spike of COVID-19.”

Last night, Cuomo also extended New York’s state of emergency for another 30 days through August 5. This gives him the power to continue mandating the state’s sweeping restrictions issued in response to the pandemic, including face covering requirements, suspension of business and school operations, quarantine orders and other regulations to public health, elections, meetings and court proceedings.

Support local journalism.
Now more than ever, the survival of quality local journalism depends on your support. Our community faces unprecedented economic disruption, and the future of many small businesses are under threat, including our own. It takes time and resources to provide this service. We are a small family-owned operation, and we will do everything in our power to keep it going. But today more than ever before, we will depend on your support to continue. Support RiverheadLOCAL today. You rely on us to stay informed and we depend on you to make our work possible.

Katie Morosky
Katie, winner of the 2016 James Murphy Cub Reporter of the Year award from the L.I. Press Club, is a co-publisher of RiverheadLOCAL. A Riverhead native, she is a 2014 graduate of Stony Brook University. Email Katie