Home News Local News Fire district election results: Haas, McQueeney, Moreno and Newton are winners in...

Fire district election results:
Haas, McQueeney, Moreno and Newton are winners in contested races

Photo: Wading River Fire Department/Facebook

Voters elected commissioners in fire district elections across the state yesterday.

Locally, there were contested races in three fire districts.

In Jamesport Fire District, Mason Haas defeated William Van Helmond to fill a two-year term of office. Commissioner Chuck Thomas, running unopposed was re-elected to a five-year term. Erin Murphy-Apicello, also unopposed, was elected district treasurer.

Jamesport voters also passed a proposition authorizing the board of commissioners to establish truck reserve and building reserve funds.

In Wading River, Kevin McQueeney defeated incumbent Glenn Erick. Joe Moreno defeated Robert Donnelly for an open seat with a one-year term.

Manorville Fire District voters re-elected incumbent Commissioner Jim Newton.

Riverhead Commissioner Dennis Hammill and Flanders Commissioner Robert Merker were unopposed in their bids for re-election.

The board of fire commissioners, which governs and manages the affairs of the fire district, is a five-person board. Each commissioner is elected to a five-year term — unless elected to fill a vacancy; then the election is for the balance of the term. Commissioners’ terms are staggered so that one commissioner’s term expires each year.

A commissioner’s term of office commences Jan. 1 following their election.

By state law, fire district commissioners serve without pay.

The board of commissioners elects a chairperson and appoints a secretary. The district treasurer can be an appointive or elective office. The treasurer by law may not be a member of the board of commissioners.

The law also prohibits a person from simultaneously holding the offices of fire department chief or assistant chief and fire district commissioner.

Denise Civiletti
Denise is a veteran local reporter and editor, an attorney and former Riverhead Town councilwoman. Her work has been recognized with numerous awards, including a “writer of the year” award from the N.Y. Press Association in 2015. She is a founder, owner and co-publisher of this website. Email Denise.